Not only is the Bible divided into two major divisions, an Old and New Testament, but it is also divided into 66 books. There are 39 books in the Old Testament and 27 books in the New Testament.

The word Bible comes from the Koine Greek word “ta biblia,” which means “the books.” Although it is the only divinely inspired written revelation of God to mankind, the Bible gets its name from the fact that it is not a single book, but a collection or whole library of sacred books.

The Bible may be further divided into 1,189 chapters and 31,175 verses. Interestingly, the books of the Bible were not originally divided into chapters and verses. Chapters and verses were added by translators in order to reference the stories, quotes and teachings of the Bible. For instance, if the Gospel of John was not divided into chapters and verses, how would you direct someone to Jesus’ famous words in John 3:16?

The Bible may be further divided into 810,695 words and 3,566,480 letters. I hope you appreciate this additional information, since it took me quite awhile to count and add it all up for you.