The 27 books of the Bible’s New Testament can be divided into: (1) The Historical Books (2) The Doctrinal Books, and (3) The Prophetic Book.

The Historical Books begin with the Synoptic Gospels, which are Matthew, Mark, and Luke. The word “synoptic” means “seeing the same” or “similarly.” Next, is the evangelical gospel, the Gospel of John. Finally, there is the Book of Acts, which is actually the second part of Luke’s two-part work, the first part being his Gospel and the second part being the Book of Acts.

The Doctrinal Books are comprised of the New Testament Epistles or Letters. First, there are the Pauline Epistles. There are Paul’s Primary Epistles: [1] Romans [2] 1 Corinthians [3] 2 Corinthians [4] Galatians [5] 1 Thessalonians, and [6] 2 Thessalonians. Then, there are Paul’s Prison Epistles, letters written by the great missionary apostle while in prison. These are: [1] Ephesians [2] Philippians [3] Colossians, and [4] Philemon. Finally, there are Paul’s Pastoral Epistles, letters Paul wrote to two young pastors, Timothy and Titus. These are: [1] 1 Timothy [2] 2 Timothy, and [3] Titus. The last of the New Testament’s Doctrinal Books are the General Epistles. These are: [1] Hebrews [2] James [3]1 Peter [4] 2 Peter [5] 1 John [6] 2 John [7] 3 John, and [8] Jude.

The final book of the New Testament is its Prophetic or Apocalyptic Book, the book of Revelation. It is without doubt the most important prophetic book in the Bible.